Meg.

It’s been a really long time since I’ve had to seriously consider the relationship between my future and the area of a cirle, but the GRE has come and gone, I’ve learned some really great but useless vocabulary words, and I was reminded of why I gained 5 pounds in college (thank you, peanut butter and dumplings!). I got the score I wanted to get (yeah!), despite being quite thirsty (the dumplings…) and worrying about whether or not I’d be able to get past the testing room security guard. Every time I got up to get a drink of water, my signature was examined against the one on my photo ID (in case my body double snuck in with me the first time?), and I was wanded (for calculator bombs?) each time I re-entered. TSA: I found your new pool of potential employees. But I’m glad I did it! I’m a better human when I’m stimulated and working towards some goals.

*

Tip of the day: If you’re not already doing so, poach your garlic in olive oil before you sautee that spinach. Then chop it up and throw it in just a minute before the spinach is done. Squeeze a bit of lemon, and you’ll be as happy as I am right now!

*

I’ve been doing a lot of things I don’t normally do, like going to Orlando and riding roller coasters, going to a Seal and Kelly Clarkson concert, and going to Mohegan Sun and dancing with short men in cowboy hats and plaid. It’s been a weird couple weeks.

Next week I’m going to Arkansas. The implications are slightly terrifying. I have no idea what to expect from this place, or how I’ll react if I’m invited to stay. All I really know is that I’ll most certainly be over-dressed, and that I’ll order The Glenlivet at lunchtime.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.